The goat who stared at dogs

Keanna: darn gate, it's still locked... keep barking Princess... drown his baa...baa Princess: okay, ruff...ruff...ruff... gosh, he's still staring at us

“What now?” I thought as I heard Keanna and Princess’ distinct barks early this morning. When I got to where they were, I saw whom they’re barking at — a male gray goat tied with a rope 10 paces away from our gate. “They’re annoyed at his bleating,” I pondered.

Vanilla Bean: howdy Mr. GrayGoat...

Later on this morning as I took Vanilla Bean for a short walk, we’ve met “graygoat” along the trail. He moved toward us and lowered his head. Vanilla Bean faced the approaching animal. I could almost hear her thoughts — Is it safe to go near him? Is he friendly or not? 

GrayGoat: wanna piece of me?

and they stared for less than five seconds… understanding passed between the two furry creatures… I think my pet is a bit intimidated of the goat but she doesn’t let her guard down… I coaxed her to move along…

hornless gray goat relaxing

When we backtracked, the goat was lying on the ground in the middle of the trail. Vanilla Bean stopped in her tracks and refused to move forward so I picked her up. When we got passed him, the goat stood up still looking at us.

Vanilla Bean: I'm not going near that crazy goat again...I'm telling mom...really...

This scene made me asked, are goats and dogs enemies? When I googled it this afternoon, I found out that its affirmative. Answers.com included the domesticated dog on the list of goat’s common enemies because canines like to chase at the goats… Really? Thank God “graygoat” is hornless…

Vanilla Bean: I better watch the movie The Men Who Stare at Goats maybe I'll get tips from it...

Woof without inhibitions... you will not be shushed.

