DIY tug toy for Vanilla Bean

Unlike my 3 adult dogs, Vanilla Bean enjoys to play Tug-of-War with me and my nephew EJ. I guess the game really makes her feel good… and she loves it because we always let her win. We’re using a DIY tug toy, not those fancy ropes displayed in stores. I know my pet don’t mind the cost of any toy I give her as long as she’s happy playing with it…

As always, the 3 F’s (Fun, Fast, Free) and 3 R’s (Reduce, Reuse, Recycle) guide me to produce homemade dog toys for my energetic pooch. This simple project takes about 15 minutes to make, and it doesn’t cost me a dime since I’m using leftover fabrics. Here’s the eight simple steps to make it:

Vanilla Bean’s Tug Toy

Materials and equipment: 3 strips of fabric; measuring tape; rubber band; scissors

  1. Get 3 strips of strong cloth, each about 1 meter long and 3 inches wide. (Make sure that the material is washable and safe for your pet.)
  2. Put the strips together, measure 8 inches from one end, and tie with a rubber band to secure the 3 strips. From there, braid the fabric strips tightly.
  3. Braid until the length is about 12 inches.
  4. Bring the strips together from each end and then, braid as one.
  5. Braid up to 5 inches long.
  6. Tie a couple of knots tightly.
  7. Knot each individual strips.
  8. Measure about 4 inches for the fringes and then, trim off the excess.

P.S. — I refrain from putting a bell on this toy because I notice that Vanilla Bean is not into clanging sounds… she prefers squeaking noises…

6 thoughts on “DIY tug toy for Vanilla Bean

  1. Great toy! It looks like it was a big hit for your pup! We like to use empty 2 liters with rice inside and an old sock covering the bottle. It rolls, makes noise, and can be carried. Butter bowls workk well too. : )

  2. I printed this out to take to Peru with me (I leave Monday!). I know this will be great for our animal shelter workers to make for our shelter dogs. High quality dog toys aren’t available in the Amazon region, and funds are short for buying new toys from the US. Thank you so very much!!!!

Woof without inhibitions... you will not be shushed.

